CBD in Massachusetts: Official State Guide

CBD is surging in popularity throughout the United States—and one of the newest hotspots is Massachusetts. In this article, we’ll break down everything you need to know about CBD laws in Massachusetts, including the best places to buy, regulations, and medical marijuana cards.

CBD in Massachusetts

Hemp for Future is research-focused. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Since Massachusetts legalized recreational marijuana in 2016, there’s been an upsurge in interest about legal marijuana and CBD use. Unfortunately, since the area is so new to the legal system, it can be difficult to figure out what the laws are and how best to obtain CBD products. 

For that reason, it’s important to stay informed on all of Massachusetts’ marijuana laws—namely those regarding the legality of CBD, the process for getting a medical marijuana card, and the way to find a dispensary.

Thankfully for you, we’re here to help. 

Best Places to Buy CBD in Massachusetts
Joy Organics Logo

With a commitment to complete customer satisfaction and providing the highest quality CBD products available on the market today, Joy Organics is, without a doubt, all it is touted to be.

15% Coupon Code: 15CBDOFF

Charlottes Web logo

Charlotte's Web CBD is a full system of products, but they all contain the one key ingredient that makes this CBD such a fan favorite.

10% Coupon Code: CWEB10

FABCBD

FAB CBD's goal is to create the best products at very affordable prices. This CBD store has everything from CBD oil to CBD dog treats.

15% Coupon Code: COMEBACK15

Is CBD Legal in Massachusetts?

MA

CBD Legality

Dispensaries 

Recreational 

Medicinal

In short, yes—it is legal to buy and consume both CBD and marijuana in Massachusetts. There are, however, some conditions.

Regarding the former, Massachusetts does not limit the purchase or sale of CBD products. This includes both hemp-derived CBD, which is legal throughout the United States (though different states regulate it differently depending on its THC content), and marijuana-derived CBD.

The only wrinkle is that the Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources strictly prohibits manufacturing and selling CBD-infused food. Additionally, the state prohibits marketing CBD products as having therapeutic claims unless they’ve been approved by the FDA.

Marijuana laws are similarly lax in Massachusetts: since 2016, it has been legal to buy and use both medicinal and recreational cannabis.

Massachusetts CBD Possession Limits

There is no current possession limit on hemp-infused CBD products. 

In the case of marijuana, Massachusetts does maintain a possession limit: it’s a misdemeanor to possess more than one ounce (but no more than two) outside of your home. The maximum fine for breaking this law is $100 and forfeiting all but one ounce of your cannabis.

That said, however, this law does not apply to homes—so you’re completely free to stock up on CBD and marijuana within the confines of your property.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Massachusetts

In keeping with Massachusetts’ open attitudes toward legal marijuana, the process to get a medical marijuana card is rather straightforward. 

First, you’ll need to be at least 18 years old and suffer from a qualifying debilitating condition; such conditions include cancer, hepatitis C, ALS, multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, Parkinson’s Disease, Glaucoma, or Crohn’s Disease.

A wide variety of other conditions can also qualify, pending approval by your health insurance company. These might include Post Traumatic Stress Disorder or a chronic pain condition.

Once you know that you’re eligible, the next step is to meet with a licensed doctor. You’ll discuss your medical history, your symptoms, and whether medical marijuana is right for you.

If they determine that it is, then they’ll give you a certification that allows you to get medical marijuana.

Next, you’ll register with the Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Program, either online or through paper registration. 

You’ll need a valid form of identification (with proof of your Massachusetts residence), a color photo of yourself from the past six months, payment or proof of financial hardship, and a PIN that your doctor will provide you upon getting your certification.

Applications are reviewed in the order they’re received, and once you are approved, you’ll receive your card within 10 days. However, you can also print a temporary card that is valid for two weeks and that allows you to buy up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana.

Recommended Partner

PrestoDoctor logo

PrestoDoctor offers the greatest privacy and convenience while still offering fully qualified medical marijuana recommendations.

Get your recommendation from the comfort of your own home. Easy, fast, private.

Finding Marijuana Dispensaries in Massachusetts

Since cannabis is medically and recreationally legal throughout Massachusetts, it should be very easy to find a dispensary—no need to navigate seedy underground markets.

While marijuana dispensaries are most strongly concentrated in the cities of Boston and Worcester, there are licensed shops throughout the state—even in the more rural western part of the state.

Keep in mind, however, that different shops are licensed differently; while many dispensaries sell recreational marijuana, some sell only medical marijuana. 

In any case, you’ll want to be discerning about the store you pick. Some stores have special options like curbside pickup or premium deals, and some even do delivery. Do your research in advance to determine what the best store is for you.

Keep in mind, of course, that there are bound to be stores that sell a low-quality product—but thankfully, since marijuana is legal, you aren’t stuck with a bad dealer; you can just shop somewhere else!

If you’re just looking to buy strong CBD products, however, then these are more widely available. You can find CBD in natural health stores, smoke shops, and vape stores.

FAQ's

How old do you have to be to buy CBD in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts’ age requirement depends on the THC concentration of a CBD product. For products with a high concentration of THC, the age limit is 21; this is the same for all non-recreational marijuana (rarely, it’s possible to get a medical exemption from this rule).

However, if you’re looking to buy a product with .3% or less CBD, then the age minimum is just 18.

How much cannabis can I grow at home?

This depends on how many people are living in your home. If you are the only person of 21 years of age in your home, you may grow up to six plants. However, if another person in your home (who must also be over 21) wants to grow plants, then one home may have up to 12.

However, other restrictions exist. The Massachusetts government requires that the plants be grown in an area with a lock or security device, and they cannot be visible to the naked eye from a public place.

Additionally, you can’t manufacture hemp or marijuana using liquid or gas with a flashpoint of under 100 degrees (with the exception of alcohol).

Where can I use my marijuana?

Even though cannabis is legal, there are still restrictions on where you can use it.

You aren’t allowed to use your marijuana in public or on federal land. Additionally, you can’t have any open container of marijuana in an area of your car that an outside person could access—the same rule as alcohol. On that note, it’s illegal to drive under the influence.

Finally, it’s legal for property owners to enforce their own restrictions on marijuana use.

How can I obtain a grow license in marijuana?

There are actually several types of grow licenses in Massachusetts, each one associated with a different kind of marijuana growth operation—Cultivator, Manufacturer, Retail, and Test Facility.

If you want a grow license, you’ll apply with the state’s Cannabis Control Commission, which will determine the status of your application.

Make sure to keep in mind the fees: the initial application fee can be up to $3,000 and can go as high as $15,000, depending on the type of license you’re looking to get.

Next Steps

Massachusetts has quickly become a trailblazer in legal marijuana legislation and use. Provided you respect the state’s few regulations on age, possession, public use, and CBD food production, it should be a piece of cake to start using legal marijuana in the state.

If you’re looking to produce, it’s a slightly more complicated process, Massachusetts has an excellent climate for cannabis growth, and the situation should only improve with time.

Which CBD Oil is Right for You?

CBD Oil Quiz

Take a quick quiz to find out!

Last Updated on September 22, 2021 by admin


Tags


About the author 

Justin Powell

Justin Powell founded Hemp For Future to give direct answers to many of the questions surrounding THC, CBD, and everything in between. He’s been at the forefront of CBD advocacy for years, and as the go-to guru for many people, he decided to pour all his knowledge into Hemp For Future. He’s here to tell you about the best CBD gummies, how to stay under the legal THC allowance, and the core differences between commercial and in-home marijuana growth.

You may also like

Bloom Hemp Review

Bloom Hemp Review

CBD in Michigan

CBD in Michigan

Extract Labs CBD Review

Extract Labs CBD Review