CBD in Georgia: Official State Guide
Are you considering buying CBD in the state of Georgia? Wondering about the safest and most legal way to do so? This article explains the CBD laws and regulations in Georgia, the possession limits for CBD oil, how to get a license to purchase CBD, and the best places to purchase CBD.
Hemp for Future is research-focused. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more
Are you looking for a consistent, quality CBD product, but not sure where to start?
Georgia has strict laws when it comes to cannabis and CBD, so it is essential for you to understand the facts.
That way, you can approach your purchase safely and legally.
Where are the best places to buy CBD, and will you need a license to do so? Once you find the right source, how much can you buy and carry?
This article answers everything you need to know about purchasing, using, and realizing the benefits of CBD in the state of Georgia.
Best Places to Buy CBD in Georgia in 2021
With a commitment to complete customer satisfaction and providing the highest quality CBD products available on the market today, Joy Organics is, without a doubt, all it is touted to be.
15% Coupon Code: 15CBDOFF
Charlotte's Web CBD is a full system of products, but they all contain the one key ingredient that makes this CBD such a fan favorite.
10% Coupon Code: CWEB10
FAB CBD's goal is to create the best products at very affordable prices. This CBD store has everything from CBD oil to CBD dog treats.
15% Coupon Code: COMEBACK15
Is CBD Legal in Georgia (Laws & Regulations)
CBD products are legal in the state of Georgia, except for the use of CBD in beverages, foods, dietary supplements, and animal feed.
According to the Georgia Hemp Farming Act (HB 213) in 2019, CBD product commerce is legal if the CBD conforms to federal requirements of less than 0.3% THC.
HB 213 also legalized the processing, commerce, and cultivation of industrial hemp for research and commercial applications. Until state lawmakers finalize and confirm licensing regulations, Georgia processors and growers cannot apply for a license.
As for marijuana, Georgia laws only allow medical CBD in extract forms low in THC and high in CBD. Larger cities like Savannah and Atlanta already took steps to decriminalize cannabis possession up to 1 ounce, with penalties set to $75-$300.
Here is a full breakdown of the different punishment levels for sale, punishment, and cultivation of marijuana in the state of Georgia:
Other Main Laws & Regulations
Apart from HB 213, here the important laws and regulations you need to know throughout Georgia’s history:
The Georgia Composite Medical Board and the Georgia Department of Public Health collaborate to maintain and regulate the patient registry.
Patients need to register for their card from the Department of Public health after paying a $25 fee and receiving a doctor’s recommendation.
So, what are the qualifying conditions that the patients need to meet?
The DPH outlined a complete list of conditions that need to be end state or severe:
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Sickle Cell Disease
- Peripheral Neuropathy
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Hospice Care patient
- Crohn's Disease
- Intractable Pain
- Epidermolysis Bullosa
- Mitochondrial Disease
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
- Autism Spectrum Disorder
Georgia CBD Possession Limits
If the CBD product does not hold more than 0.3% via weight, Georgia does not apply any possession limits for hemp-derived CBD.
According to Georgia law, qualified patients can carry no more than 20 fluid ounces of cannabis oil (low THC). Unauthorized marijuana possession of any form is a violation of federal and Georgia state law.
So, what is the penalty for possessing any illegal form of cannabis or CBD product?
It depends on any motivation to distribute, but possession above one ounce is a punishable felony.
Violators are also eligible to receive up to $5,000 in fines and ten years in prison. Compared to the sale of cannabis or illegal CBD, intent to distribute is also punishable by similar tiers of penalties.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Georgia
Georgia residents with severe conditions could be eligible for the state’s program for medical marijuana. To get approved for the MMJ card, the state requires the applicant to meet specific conditions.
Here are some other quick facts about how the MMJ program and process in Georgia:
- The program was approved by the state in April 2019
- No current online application available
- Once obtained, the MMJ card is valid for 24 months
- The registration fee is $25
The following types of people are eligible to apply for MMJ within the state of Georgia:
- Adult with at least one qualifying condition listed above
- An eligible adult’s legal guardians
- The legal guardians or parents of children who have a qualifying condition
The first action to get your MMJ is to reach out to your physician for assistance on getting added to the low-THC oil registry.
Once you locate a Georgia doctor well-versed in medications for cannabis, here is the typical process:
- The physician performs a quick assessment to see if low-THC oil is right for you
- Upon approval, you will complete a pair of forms (a waiver for the doctor and yourself to sign, and a physician certification document)
- The doctor will retain both documents for your medical records, and you should request to keep a copy too
- The doctor submits your information to Georgia DPH electronically
- Your application gets reviewed – if approved, you will receive a personal registry card for low-THC oil
After you complete the licensing procedures for the Georgia Medical Marijuana process, there are a couple of things to consider. Approved patients can hold low-THC cannabis oil up to 20 fluid ounces. According to state law, it can only hold up to 5% THC.
You might also wonder what happens if I lose my Georgia MMJ card? If this unfortunate event occurs, you can call the State Office of Vital Records.
If the card has not expired yet, the DPH will check with your doctor to confirm your care relationship, and then a new card will be shipped within two weeks for $25.
It is important to mention that cardholders are only able to receive low-THC oil products. The state’s MMJ program is not the same as the typical system in other states.
It's program is not much of a program at all because Georgia does not make the list of 35 states that currently contain approval laws for medical cannabis.
That being said, residents of Georgia can buy CBD oil without receiving approval for the low-THC oil registry. CBD products below 0.3% in THC are readily available throughout the state.
Cannabinoids can only exist within hemp and not marijuana, however.
PrestoDoctor offers the greatest privacy and convenience while still offering fully qualified medical marijuana recommendations.
Get your recommendation from the comfort of your own home. Easy, fast, private.
Finding Marijuana Dispensaries in Georgia
Although marijuana is illegal and there are no cannabis dispensaries in Georgia, you can purchase CBD oil from various sources.
- Online stores – shopping online is one of the more convenient methods of finding CBD products, including tinctures, creams, waxes, balms, and more. Internet retailers usually have a more extensive variety compared to brick-and-mortar stores too.
- Local shops in Georgia – because of the strict marijuana laws in Georgia, it could be challenging to find a consistent local supplier. The ideal places for local CBD include head shops, vape stores, and other health outlets.
We covered a lot in this article about the full details of Georgia CBD and its many laws, regulations, and medical card process. If you are still unsure about CBD and its limitations, check out some of these other frequently asked questions below.
You must be 18 years old to buy CBD in Georgia, and you must be a member of the patient registry with a valid MMJ card. If you are below 18, your parent or guardian must obtain a card to label them as your caregiver.
Once you are of legal age and have a card, here are the important things to consider when buying CBD in Georgia:
- Check if the company’s products are approved and tested by a 3rd party lab. There is a chance that the CBD you see in stores may have substantially less CBD than advertised.
- Focus on CBD companies that utilize CO2 as the primary extraction method. This technique does not involve any heat or solvents, which keeps your CBD as clean and pure as possible.
- Beware of false advertising. Companies that communicate the “magical effects” of CBD and its ability to cure all problems. Although it is a unique and effective health supplement, it will not mend broken bones or cure everything after one try.
It is important to mention up front that it is 100% illegal to grow cannabis in Georgia, regardless of whether you are currently on the registry or not. Therefore, you cannot grow any cannabis at home.
Punishment for growing cannabis is the same as sales and distribution offenses. Fines and prison time increase severely if you grow cannabis within a school, housing project, park, or drug-free zone.
These punishments include up to $20,000-$40,000 in fines and 5-40 years in prison.
You cannot use marijuana in the state of Georgia. There are no cannabis-related laws approved in Georgia, making it 1 of 15 states to have 100% illegal status.
Because you cannot grow marijuana in the state of Georgia, there is not currently a process to obtain a grow license. For a complete breakdown of cultivation status by state, check out this helpful article.
Although the laws, regulations, and process of obtaining CBD is strict and regulated in Georgia, you can go about it safely and efficiently.
We covered the many variables for you to consider, such as legality, possession limits, medical card process, and the different places to buy.Looking to start your CBD journey in Georgia?
Which CBD Oil is Right for You?
Take a quick quiz to find out!
Last Updated on February 26, 2021 by admin