CBD in Florida: Official State Guide

In this article, we will help you find the best places to buy CBD in Florida and understand the legalities of the use of CBD.

CBD in Florida

Hemp for Future is research-focused. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

When it comes to CBD, there is no shortage of what is available in Florida. The problem is that sometimes it can be hard to know where to start. 

In Florida, CBD can come in the form of oil, gummies, and even pet treats. As the pandemic continues to leave uncertainty in the United States, there has been a drastic rise in CBD products' sales.

If you are someone who has taken an interest in CBD recently, you probably have a few questions on where you can get CBD and how old you have to be to possess it legally.

In this article, we will go over all that you need to know regarding CBD in Florida. 

Best Places to Buy CBD in Florida in 2021

Joy Organics Logo

With a commitment to complete customer satisfaction and providing the highest quality CBD products available on the market today, Joy Organics is, without a doubt, all it is touted to be.

15% Coupon Code: 15CBDOFF

Charlottes Web logo

Charlotte's Web CBD is a full system of products, but they all contain the one key ingredient that makes this CBD such a fan favorite.

10% Coupon Code: CWEB10

FABCBD

FAB CBD's goal is to create the best products at very affordable prices. This CBD store has everything from CBD oil to CBD dog treats.

15% Coupon Code: COMEBACK15

Is CBD Legal in Florida? (Laws & Regulations)

FL

CBD Legality

Dispensaries 

Recreational 

Medicinal

When considering buying CBD in any state, you will want to make sure that any purchase you make is legal in your area. 

Since the Hemp Farming Act of 2018, CBD and other hemp-related products are now legal within Florida. Recreational marijuana is currently not legal in Florida. 

However, medical marijuana is legal, although there are laws in place regarding the use of marijuana.  

Possession of Small Amounts of Marijuana

In 2015, many cities in Florida moved to start decriminalizing small amounts of marijuana. Possessing quantities will no longer be cause for an arrest as long as the quantity in your possession is 20 grams or less. 

However, being caught with even a small amount of marijuana on your person can still result in a citation. On top of that, there are still cities in Florida that do not follow the decriminalization policies. 

In Florida, owning small amounts of marijuana is still technically a misdemeanor. Those charged with small possessions may face punishments, including a maximum of one year in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Selling or Distributing Marijuana is a Felony

While medical marijuana is legal to own in Florida, selling or distributing marijuana of any kind is considered a felony. 

Selling marijuana within 1,000 feet of any school establishment or other specified area is a crime, and you can end up with a sentence of up to 15 years in prison. The felony may also require a fine of up to $10,000.  

Selling up to 25 pounds of marijuana is also a felony that can result in a five-year sentence, and you may have to pay a fine of up to $5,000.

However, the distribution of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor resulting in a possible sentence of up to one year in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Medical Marijuana

Those living in Florida may gain access to medical marijuana if they are suffering from a series of conditions, including:

  • Multiple Forms of Cancer
  • Seizures and Other Symptoms Related to Epilepsy
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder(also known as PTSD)
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis(also known as ALS)

To legally use medical marijuana, you need to be a permanent or seasonal resident of Florida. You must also be in the medical marijuana use registry and own an MMJ card.

Florida CBD Possession Limits

The legality of CBD has to do with how much THC(the psychoactive compound found in cannabis)is in the CBD. 

The legal limit of THC in any form of CBD is 0.3%. Anything higher than that percentage is illegal. Because of this, the legality of CBD can get a little tricky, depending on the strain. 

However, assuming that the CBD product has a THC content of under 0.03%, there is currently no restriction on how much CBD a person can carry as long as they are registered to do so.

But when it comes to medical marijuana, the legal limit on how much you can purchase in 35 days is 2.5 ounces

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida

To consume medical marijuana, you will first need to own an MMJ card. 

There is a process to obtain an MMJ card that requires a series of steps. But once you take these series of steps, you will be able to use medical marijuana and CBD legally.

Make an Appointment

Permanent and seasonal residents are the only people who are allowed to get an MMJ card in Florida. To obtain your card, you will need to provide legal documents showing that you are a legal resident.

These documents can include an ID or passport.  

To get your medical marijuana card, you will need to set up an appointment with your doctor. Only a medical professional in Florida's Medical Marijuana Use Registry can give the appropriate recommendation based on your symptoms. 

You can check here to see the current list of all medical marijuana doctors.

Consult Your Doctor

Once you have scheduled an appointment with your doctor, you will have to undergo a medical examination. The exam will consist of a checkup and a series of questions to determine whether medical marijuana or CBD will be a good solution for you.

Once your doctor has diagnosed you with an appropriate condition, you will be on your way to getting your MMJ.

After the appointment, your physician will enter your name into the Florida Marijuana Use Registry. Once your name is in the registry, you will be able to apply for your MMJ. 

Keep in mind that your name must officially be in the registry to apply. Only the physician that diagnosed you can put your name on the registry.

Complete an Application

Once you have been placed on the registry, you or your physician can apply to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use.

After you have submitted your application, the waiting period to have your MMJ card issued is up to three weeks. 

After your application is approved, you will get an email that will act as a temporary MMJ card while waiting for the physical copy in the mail. You can order medical marijuana from a dispensary with the email you will receive while you are waiting.

Recommended Partner

PrestoDoctor logo

PrestoDoctor offers the greatest privacy and convenience while still offering fully qualified medical marijuana recommendations.

Get your recommendation from the comfort of your own home. Easy, fast, private.

Finding Marijuana Dispensaries in Florida

Once you have received the appropriate documentation to buy medical marijuana(and CBD), you are free to get a maximum of 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana from any dispensary in a 35 day period. 

There are many dispensaries across the state of Florida. As the pandemic continues to put a damper on the United States, Florida's dispensaries have expanded their options.

You can now pick up a curbside order and even have your order delivered to your house.

Tampa

If you live in the Tampa area, three of the best dispensaries are below:

Orlando

In the Orlando area, information regarding some of the best dispensaries are below:

The Villages

In the area surrounding The Villages, information regarding some of the best dispensaries are below:

Keep in mind that the dispensaries listed above are only a fraction of the available dispensaries in Florida. Doing research can pay off for you in terms of overall satisfaction and quality of your medicine. 

FAQ's

As Florida consistently updates its laws and policies regarding the use of CBD and medical marijuana, people have many questions about the two substances. 

How Old Do You Have to be to Buy CBD in Florida?

In Florida, most dispensaries are available to those who are 21 and older. However, CBD and medical marijuana are both technically legal to individuals who are 18 years and older. 

In extreme cases, patients under 18 will be prescribed an FDA approved form of CBD known as Epidiolex. This medication is typically used to treat seizures and different cancers in patients.
How Much Cannabis Can I Grow at Home?

As medical marijuana and CBD have had an increase in their legality the past couple of years, there are still a fair amount of restrictions surrounding the plant. 

It may seem like a reasonably simple solution to grow your cannabis at home. You could cultivate your own plants and not have to worry about transporting the product. You would also save a lot of money.

However, it is illegal to cultivate marijuana regardless of whether or not you have an MMJ card. In fact, growing your medical marijuana is highly advised against. Medical marijuana is typically regulated and produced professionally.

The THC levels and other aspects that medical marijuana legal are much easier to keep track of when the cannabis is grown in a professional setting. If you were to miss one of those aspects, you could risk getting yourself into a legal predicament.

Where Can I Use My Marijuana in Florida?

Medical marijuana and CBD are best when they are taken at home.

Public consumption of marijuana is not legal in the state of Florida. Smoking, ingesting, or otherwise consuming medical marijuana in public can lead to an arrest and a fine. This applies to individuals both with and without an MMJ card.

How Can I Obtain a Grow License in Florida?

The kind of grow-license that you obtain depends on what your purpose is for growing marijuana. 

If you are looking to grow for just yourself, you will not have much luck getting a license. However, if you plan to run an MMTC(medical marijuana treatment center), you can take steps to get a grow license. 

To get an MMTC to grow license in Florida, you must be registered to run a business within Florida for at least five years beforehand. You will also need an appropriate place to grow your medical marijuana and financial backup.

Click here to learn more about the process of obtaining an MMTC grow license.

Next Steps

CBD and medical marijuana have seen a rise in popularity as the world's stress and uncertainty continues to keep a hold on the United States.

If you are suffering from an illness that you believe can be remedied with CBD or medical marijuana and you live in the state of Florida, you will want to consider getting an MMJ card. 

The process of getting your card is relatively simple, and you will have access to a wide range of dispensaries. 

Keep in mind the laws surrounding both CBD and medical marijuana, as there are still many regulations on the substances. But using the substances in a traditional setting can significantly improve your quality of life if you are suffering from a chronic illness. 

Consult with a physician to learn more about how CBD can help treat you.

Which CBD Oil is Right for You?

CBD Oil Quiz

Take a quick quiz to find out!

Last Updated on February 8, 2021 by admin


Tags

cbd


About the author 

Justin Powell

Justin Powell founded Hemp For Future to give direct answers to many of the questions surrounding THC, CBD, and everything in between. He’s been at the forefront of CBD advocacy for years, and as the go-to guru for many people, he decided to pour all his knowledge into Hemp For Future. He’s here to tell you about the best CBD gummies, how to stay under the legal THC allowance, and the core differences between commercial and in-home marijuana growth.

You may also like

CBD Protein Powders

Hawaii

CBD Oil for Dogs